Randi DiAntonio – PEF Vice President, SWPAC Chair

Thank you for visiting the PEF Political Action page. This page is specifically designed with resources and information to help you navigate the complex world of legislation and politics in New York state. I’d like to call your attention to three key items: Our legislative calendar, information about how to volunteer, and a tool to look up your state lawmakers.

Your PEF leadership team understands that the union’s involvement in the political and legislative action is absolutely critical to you and every PEF member. We need to be involved because our elected representatives in Washington, D.C. and in Albany enact laws and implement policies that impact the terms and conditions of your employment, as well as your health and retirement benefits.

We know that there are politicians who will use any excuse to cut your retirement benefits, increase your health care costs, eliminate your due process rights or privatize your job.  Your union makes sure you are represented and heard by monitoring bill introductions, attending and testifying at public hearings, conducting bill analyses, drafting new bills, developing amendments to pending bills and developing talking points and memoranda in support or opposition to pending legislation.

Read More

Legislative Office

Roles and Conributions

Role of the Legislative Office:

Identify legislation/budget initiatives that will advance or endanger PEF members’ working conditions and other interests and working to stop or get approval of such legislation/budget initiatives.

Work with legislative leaders, legislators and their staffs to introduce and advance legislation identified as a priority in PEF’s State & Federal legislative agendas.
Coordinate PEF’s lobbying efforts at the federal, state, and local levels.
PEF Endorsement Process

Regional PACs interview and endorse candidates. Slates sent to SWPAC. Once approved, slate submitted to Executive Board, which includes PEF leadership, for review and final approval. PEF-endorsed candidates had a proven record of supporting PEF’s legislative and budget priorities.

Campaign Contributions – State and Federal

PEF’s contributions to state and local candidates come from members’ dues. These funds are held in its political action fund. New York State (NYS) Election Law sets the parameters for these contributions. Additionally, PEF has developed statewide PAC guidelines for the use of these monies.

PEF’s federal campaign funds come from voluntary member contributions to its Committee on Political Education (COPE) Fund. PEF works in concert with its two international unions – American Federation of Teachers and Service Employees International Union – on federal elections and campaign funding and activities.

Legislative Staff:

Patrick Lyons – Legislative Director

Leah Gonzalez – Political Director

Scott Lorey – Political Organizer/Lobbyist-State

Danielle Little-Thomson – Legislative Assistant

Political Action Committee

Contact Information

Randi DiAntonio – Statewide PAC Chair
NYS-PEF
1168-70 Troy-Schenectady Road
Albany NY  12212-2414
585-615-2465 | RDiAntonio@pef.org


Region 1 Chairs – (Erie, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Niagara, Wyoming)

Michele Silsby

716-628-1233 | MSilsby@pef.org

Joe McCann

716-655-6668 | JMcCann@pef.org


Region 2 Co-Chairs – (Alleghany, Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben, Yates)

Andrew Puleo

585-313-0817 | APuleo@pef.org

Dan Loven

607-351-4104 | dbloven59@gmail.com


Region 3 Co-Chairs – (Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Wayne)

Leisa Abraham

585-232-6980 | LAbraham@pef.org

Gregory Salamida

585-232-6980 | GSalamida@pef.org


Region 4 Co-Chairs – (Cayuga, Cortland, Jefferson, Onondaga, Oswego, Seneca)

Gina M. Corona

315-243-6399 | GCorona@pef.org

Angela Murray

347-902-0947 | agrra9908@gmail.com


Region 5 Co-Chairs – (Broome, Chenango, Delaware Otsego, Tioga, Tompkins)

David Dubofsky

607-761-3021 | DDubofsky@pef.org

Scott Staub

607-222-7683 | SStaub@pef.org


Region 6 Chairs – (Hamilton, Herkimer, Fulton, Madison, Montgomery, Lewis, Oneida)

Christopher Dunham

315-731-7996 | CDunham@pef.org

Dan Joaquin

315-725-3040 | sea3155@yahoo.com


Region 7 Co-Chairs – (Clinton, Essex, Franklin, St. Lawrence)

Barbara Stransky

315-528-8644 | BStransky@pef.org

Vernon Burns

315-323-7496 | vburns@twcny.rr.com


Region 8 Co-Chairs – (Albany, Columbia, Greene, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Rensselaer, Warren, Washington)

Maddie Shannon-Roberts

518-320-5479 | MShannon-Roberts@pef.org

Martin Robinson

518-253-6769| MRobinson@pef.org


Region 9 Co-Chairs – (Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, Westchester)

Diane Jaulus

914-830-4335 | DJaulus@pef.org

Dan McCormack

845-665-9167 | SrInvestigator@yahoo.com


Region 10 Co-Chairs – (Manhattan, Bronx)

Radhakrishna Mohan

347-630-1715 | RMohan@pef.org

Tamara Martin

917-553-2038| TMartin@pef.org


Region 11 Co-Chairs – (Kings, Queens, Richmond)

Bernadette O’Connor

347-350-5416 or 347-261-1110 | BOConnor@pef.org

Charles Roland

917-846-6637 | CRoland@pef.org


Region 12 Chair – (Nassau, Suffolk)

Nora Higgins

631-987-2455 | NHiggins@pef.org

Retiree Representative

Jim Carr

607-425-3267 | JCarr.Cortland@gmail.com


 

Legislative Analysis

Legislative Priorities

Agenda and Highlights

Working closely with the PEF Legislative Department, the Statewide PAC organizes and coordinates political activity on a statewide basis. Each Regional PAC Chair coordinates political activities and programs between the Statewide PAC and the Regional PAC.

Each year, the SWPAC receives membership input for our Legislative Agenda. With technical assistance from our Legislative staff, the SWPAC puts together a draft of our legislative priorities which is reviewed and approved by our Executive Board and then voted on by the 1,000 convention delegates. Our agenda is then communicated to all state legislators and promoted throughout the legislative session.

2021 PEF Budget Priorities 

2021 State Legislative Agenda

2021 Federal Legislative Agenda

Videos

Why Politics Matter: The Union as a Force for Change

2020 PEF Convention: PAC Roundtable – Leah Gonzalez
https://vimeo.com/468721259

2020 PEF Convention: PAC Roundtable – Randi DiAntonio
https://vimeo.com/468716515

2020 PEF Convention: PAC Roundtable – Patrick Lyons
https://vimeo.com/468705635

2020 PEF Convention: Race Roundtable
https://vimeo.com/468695498

2020 PEF Convention: Labor Management Roundtable
https://vimeo.com/468687767

2020 PEF Convention: NYS Senator Andrew Gounardes
https://vimeo.com/468581750

2020 PEF Convention: NYS Assembly Member Karines Reyes
https://vimeo.com/468553649

Ade Oluwo: EBoard Seat 12, Dept. of Financial Services
https://vimeo.com/488200629

Jim Desso: EBoard Seat 175, Office of Information Services Technology
https://vimeo.com/488216110

Interested in joining our PAC?

PEF Political Action Volunteer Form

  • PEF Member Identification Number